Can you do fireworks in Virginia?
On the Fourth of July, watching fireworks streak to the sky, reach an apex, and burst into bright colors can be awe-inspiring. As fun and awe-inspiring as fireworks can be, there are plenty of dangers surrounding them, ranging from serious injuries to fires. And, if you happen to be shooting off bottle rockets, Roman candles or similar fireworks in the state of Virginia, you’re also committing a Class 1 misdemeanor. Throughout the state, it is illegal to buy, sell, possess or use any fireworks that explode, travel laterally, rise into the air, or fire projectiles. This means firecrackers, skyrockets or bottle rockets or similar fireworks are not legal. However, fireworks like sparklers or pinwheels or similar devices that don’t explode are legal to buy and use. When it comes to Fourth of July safety, watching controlled fireworks displays is always the safest option to celebrate the country’s independence.
This year, in particular, with COVID-19 regulations in place, many large community fireworks shows have been canceled, as gatherings of more than 50 people are restricted. Please check with local news sources for what’s available in your area, and stay safe with any celebrations you may be planning.
Unfortunately, some people will ignore fireworks laws and find themselves using illegal fireworks in their celebrations. Others may overindulge in alcohol and find themselves under arrest for DUI. While A-1 Affordable Bail Bonds hopes everyone will stay safe and remain within the laws of the state, should you find yourself in trouble and needing bail over the Fourth of July holiday, we will be available to help in Halifax, Roanoke, and Rocky Mount, VA. Anytime you need exceptional bail bonds help, give us a call at 434-237-2245.
How can you be safe around fireworks?
When you use legal fireworks, you have to remember that even sparklers are not toys. You have to exercise caution while enjoying them. Here are some Fourth of July safety tips to follow so you can celebrate with legal fireworks without the worry of injury or fire.
- A bucket of water should be kept nearby. Used fireworks should be placed in the bucket.
- Keep a water hose hooked up and a fire extinguisher nearby to extinguish stray sparks.
- Have one designated adult light the fireworks. Young children should never light them.
- Only use the fireworks outdoors—preferably in a parking lot, driveway, or in gravel or dirt— and away from anything like dry grass that can burn.
- Follow instructions provided for the fireworks.
- Don’t try to relight dud fireworks.
- Keep an eye out for any fires for a few hours after the fireworks have been used.
- Don’t use alcohol when lighting fireworks.
Do misdemeanors require bail?
If you happen to use, buy, or sell illegal fireworks, you could face a Class 1 misdemeanor charge, which can be punished by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500. If you’ve been arrested for using illegal fireworks, as a misdemeanor you may be spending the rest of your holiday in jail, and bail may not be set for some time if a judge is not available for bail hearings. Class 1 misdemeanors are the most serious classification of misdemeanors in Virginia.
What are the charges for a DUI?
Many people, when celebrating the Fourth of July, might have a beer or other alcoholic beverage at a holiday celebration. Unfortunately, many people also overindulge in alcohol or other intoxicating substances and end up driving while intoxicated after these celebrations have ended, endangering themselves and others in the process. If you are caught on the road under the influence, you will be charged with a DUI and jailed.
In Virginia, charges for a DUI/DWI are a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is a very serious charge. If convicted, you can face up to 12 months in jail, as well as a $2,500 fine. Moreover, you could also have your licenses suspended for up to 12 months.
Jail time for DUI in Virginia is determined by your blood alcohol content. A blood alcohol level of 0.15 to 0.20 requires a judge to sentence you to at least five days in jail. Any blood alcohol level over 0.20 requires the judge to sentence you to at least 10 days in jail. Any conviction will also make it mandatory that you take the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP). This is a 10-week program and classes are 2 hours long.
If you plan on drinking over the July 4th holiday, make Fourth of July safety a priority for yourself and others and have a designated driver.
Call Us Today
Fourth of July safety is always a priority with A-1 Affordable Bail Bonds, especially when it comes to staying safe with fireworks, as well as alcohol. But, if you do need help with any sort of bail at any time in Halifax, Roanoke, or Rocky Mount, VA, never hesitate to call us at 434-237-2245.